Tour of Britain 2019 route announced

Organisers of the OVO Tour of Britain have announced the route for the 2019 edition of the race, confirming that the final stage will take place in Manchester for the first time in 15 years.

The eight-day event starts in Glasgow, Scotland on September 7 and ends in Manchester on September 14. There is no individual time trial this year but the race has attracted a strong field in recent years, with riders often choosing to use the Tour of Britain as part of their World Championships preparation.

This year’s World Championships take place in Yorkshire, with Peter Sagan (Bora-hansgrohe) and Greg Van Avermaet (CCC Team) among the likely headlines. Last year Julian Alaphilippe won the Tour of Britain ahead of Wout Poels and Giro d’Italia contender Primoz Roglic. In 2018, Chris Froome and Geraint Thomas both took part in the Tour of Britain. 

This year’s Tour of Britain crosses into Yorkshire and the race is made up of challenging stages, from the opening stage in Glasgow – the longest stage of the race – to the Pennines and Yorkshire Dales National Park later in the race.


“This year’s race is a quintessentially British affair, combining the short and sharp climbs we’re famed for with finishes for the world’s best sprinters and hopefully a few surprises along the way,” said race director Mick Bennett, in a press release.

“But more than ever this year’s OVO Energy Tour of Britain route has been designed with spectators in mind. From visiting three iconic cities and including uphill finishes that are guaranteed to create drama to using finishing circuits, this year’s race will play a big role in helping Britain become a great cycling nation.”

With unpredictable weather and an undulating race route, the overall title could be decided on any one of the eight stages but stage 3 and the penultimate day of racing in Warwickshire could be the most crucial of all. There are three uphill finishes in total, while the final stage in Manchester should suit the sprinters.

Tour of Britain 2019 stages

Tour of Britain 2019 – how to follow

Tour of Britain previous winners 

You can