Denmark confirmed for start of 2021 Tour de France

Copenhagen will host the Grand Depart of the Tour de France in 2021, with race organisers ASO confirming on Thursday that the first three stages of the Tour de France will be held in Denmark, sparking the race’s northernmost start.

The 2019 Tour de France will start in Brussels, Belgium, with the 2020 race starting in Nice, France. 

Christian Prudhomme, the director of the Tour de France, suggested the race can learn from Copenhagen and its many urban cyclists.


“The energy that supporters and curious locals will channel to riders, followers and viewers of the Tour will most assuredly be a great source of inspiration to succeed in our greatest challenge: seeing the future on a bike.”

The 2021 Tour de France will begin on Friday, July 2, with a 13km individual time trial “through the heart of the Danish capital. Stage 2 will run 196km from Roskilde to Nyborg, including a crossing on the 18km long Great Belt Bridge, which connects the islands of Zealand and Funen. The third stage is 170km from Vejle to Sønderborg.

Stages 2 and 3 will both feature the flat, open Danish landscape, with crosswinds likely to affect action. A mass sprint is expected on both road race stages. 

You can